This meeting took place in 2019

Here are the related meetings in 2020:
B Cell Renaissance: Epigenetics, Regulation and Immunotherapy (X1)

For a complete list of the meetings for the upcoming/current season, see our meeting list, or search for a meeting.

B Cell-T Cell Interactions (J6)

Organizer(s) Gabriel D. Victora and Carola G. Vinuesa
February 10—14, 2019
Keystone Resort • Keystone, Colorado USA
Discounted Abstract Deadline: Oct 23, 2018
Abstract Deadline: Nov 7, 2018
Scholarship Deadline: Oct 23, 2018
Discounted Registration Deadline: Dec 6, 2018

Sponsored by BioLegend, Inc.

Summary of Meeting:
B cell-T cell interactions bring about the maturation and production of high affinity antibodies and are key to the establishment of effective humoral immunity. While this greatly enhances our ability to fight pathogens, it also can lead to the development of allergies and autoimmune disease. While recent years have seen a burst in our understanding of how B cell-T cell interactions drive antibody affinity maturation, a number of gaps remain, including how these interactions influence the differentiation of B cells into effector fates and how they limit the emergence of autoreactive B cell clones. Most importantly, from the vaccine standpoint, it is likely that better understanding of how T cell help shapes the B cell repertoire will allow us to better control the specificity of vaccine-induced immune responses. The aim of this Keystone symposium will be to: (1) Present the most recent advances in the basic biology of the T cell-dependent B cell response, focusing on Tfh development and function and B cell activation and differentiation; (2) address the gap in our understanding the differentiation of B cells into post-activation (memory and plasma cell) fates; (3) discuss how furthering our understanding of B cell-T cell interactions can inform vaccine development; and (4) present recent findings regarding the role of T-cell dependent B cell response in allergy and autoimmunity.

View Meeting Program


National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID) Scholarship Recipients

Marco De Giovanni
Ospedale San Raffaele Srl, Italy

Rebecca A. Elsner
University of Pittsburgh, USA

Steven Erickson
University of Chicago, USA

Shi-Hsia Hwa
Africa Health Research Institute, South Africa

Zhixin Jing
Albert Einstein College of Medicine, USA

Brian J. Laidlaw
University of California, San Francisco, USA

Hayley A. McNamara
Australian National University, Australia

Lea Simoni
Boston Children's Hospital, USA

Marisa Stebegg
University of Cambridge, UK