This meeting took place in 2019

For a complete list of the meetings for the upcoming/current season, see our meeting list, or search for a meeting.

Positive-Strand RNA Viruses (E2)

Organizer(s) Frank van Kuppeveld and Andrea Gamarnik
June 9—13, 2019
INEC Killarney Convention Centre • Killarney, Co. Kerry Ireland
Discounted Abstract Deadline: Feb 7, 2019
Abstract Deadline: Mar 6, 2019
Scholarship Deadline: Feb 7, 2019
Discounted Registration Deadline: Apr 9, 2019

Part of the Keystone Symposia Global Health Series, supported by the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation

Summary of Meeting:
The Keystone Symposia conference on positive-strand RNA viruses provides an international forum for research on human, animal, insect, plant and bacterial viruses with positive-strand RNA genomes. This group of viruses contains many clinically relevant and well-known pathogens (e.g., poliovirus, hepatitis C virus, Dengue and West Nile virus). Furthermore, the enormous diversity of positive-strand RNA viruses in animals and insects, combined with their evolutionary and adaptive potential following a species-jump, poses a threat to the human population as demonstrated by the growing list of emerging viruses, including zoonotic as well as arbovirus-transmitted pathogens such as MERS-CoV, Chikungunya and Zika virus. Detailed insight into the “virosphere”, the “virome”, viral evolution, as well as in the molecular details of viral replication and spreading, tissue tropism, and viral recognition by the host immune system is critical to understand virus transmission, viral pathogenesis as well as to develop novel therapeutic and preventive measures. This conference brings together experienced and junior experts to discuss the latest developments in molecular biology, cell biology, vector biology, immunology, vaccinology, and antiviral drug development applied to the field of positive-strand RNA viruses.

View Meeting Program


Keystone Symposia Future of Science Fund Scholarship Recipients

Tamanash Bhattacharya
Indiana University Bloomington, USA

Rebecca S. Brown
Albert Einstein College of Medicine, USA

Lindsey Cook
Washington University in St. Louis, USA

Valerie Cortez
St. Jude Children's Research Hospital, USA

Guadalupe Soledad Costa Navarro
Fundación Instituto Leloir, Argentina

Jelke J. Fros
Wageningen University, Netherlands

Yifei Lang
Utrecht University, Netherlands

Laura I. Levi
Institut Pasteur, France

Fabian Pott
Charité Universitaetsmedizin Berlin, Germany

Laura A. Powell
Vanderbilt University, USA

Pietro Scaturro
Technical University of Munich, Germany

Mona Anna Seifert
Friedrich-Alexander Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg, Germany

Philip V'kovski
University of Bern, Switzerland

Emily M. Webb
Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University, USA

Omer Ziv
University of Cambridge, UK

National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID) Scholarship Recipients

Mark Boerneke
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, USA

Jun Hong
Washington University in St. Louis, USA

Christopher J. Neufeldt
University of Heidelberg, Germany

Elizabeth Troisi
Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, USA

Keystone Symposia Global Health Travel Award Recipients, funded by the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation

Diego Alvarez
Universidad Nacional de San Martín, Argentina

Marycelin Mandu Baba
University of Maiduguri Teaching Hospital, Nigeria

Olutoyin Omolara Bamigboye
Adeleke University, Nigeria

Hemalatha Beesetti
International Centre for Genetic Engineering and Biotechnology, India

Barbara Brito-Rodriguez
University of Technology Sydney, Australia

Chinonyerem Nkemakolam Chinyere
National Veterinary Research Institute, Nigeria

Renan Villanova Homem de Carvalho
University of São Paulo, Brazil

Shyam Prakash Dumre
Nagasaki University, Japan

NDB Ehelepola
Teaching Hospital-Peradeniya, Sri Lanka

Temitope Oluwasegun Cephas Faleye
University of Ibadan, Nigeria

Karoline Fontana Agostinho
Carlos Chagas Institute, Brazil

Uwem Etop George
African Centre of Excellence for Genomics of Infectious Diseases, Nigeria

Esther Moradeyo Jimah
Universityof Ilorin, Nigeria

Renu Khasa
Regional Centre of Biotechnology, India

David Dazhia Lazarus
University of Pretoria, South Africa

Ruben Marrero
Instituto Nacional de Tecnología Agropecuaria, Argentina

Rozainanee Mohd Zain
Institute for Medical Research, Malaysia

Kaustuv Nayak
International Centre for Genetic Engineering and Biotechnology, India

Iheanyi Omezuruike Okonko
University of Port Harcourt, Nigeria

Alaba Samuel Olawole
University of Ibadan, Nigeria

Arthur O. Oragwa
University of Jos, Nigeria

Camilla Natália Oliveira Santos
Federal University of Sergipe, Brazil

Maria Belen Sarratea
Universidad de Buenos Aires, Argentina

Vijaya Satchidanandam
Indian Institute of Science, India

Juliet Adamma Shenge
University of Ibadan, Nigeria

Rouchelle Charmaine Tellis
Yenepoya Medical College, Yenepoya University, India

Pham Tue Hung Tran
Örebro University, Sweden

Hoa Thi My Vo
Pasteur Institute in Cambodia, Cambodia

Pryscilla Fanini Wowk
Fundação Oswaldo Cruz, Brazil

Fathiah Zakham
Hodeidah University, Yemen