This meeting took place in 2012

For a complete list of the meetings for the upcoming/current season, see our meeting list, or search for a meeting.

Molecular Basis of Vascular Inflammation and Atherosclerosis (C7)

Organizer(s) Edward A. Fisher, Catherine C. Hedrick and MacRae F. Linton
March 25—30, 2012
Big Sky Resort • Big Sky, Montana USA
Abstract Deadline: Nov 22, 2011
Late Abstract Deadline: Jan 3, 2012
Scholarship Deadline: Nov 22, 2011
Early Registration Deadline: Jan 25, 2012

Sponsored by Boehringer Ingelheim Pharmaceuticals, Inc. and Merck & Co., Inc.

Summary of Meeting:
Inflammation is inextricably woven into the natural history of atherosclerosis. The macrophage is integral to the pathogenesis of atherosclerosis, functioning at the intersection of inflammation and cholesterol homeostasis, making its biological properties an important topic. Consequently, macrophage biology will be a major focus of the Keystone Symposia meeting on Molecular Basis of Vascular Inflammation and Atherosclerosis. The critical contributions of innate and adaptive immunities to atherosclerosis will also be reviewed, and a session on fundamental features of the inflammatory process, including its resolution, will introduce concepts likely to influence future paradigms in the atherosclerosis field. Recently discovered factors that regulate levels of atherogenic lipoproteins, key initiators of arterial inflammation, will be presented. Other highlights include progress in genomic approaches to discover risk factors for coronary artery disease, as well as advances in imaging techniques to detect atherosclerotic plaques, cellular composition of plaques and trafficking of immune cells in vivo. The keynote address will highlight emerging roles of nuclear hormone receptors as integrators of plaque lipid metabolism and immune activity.

View Meeting Program


National Institute of General Medical Sciences (NIGMS) Ancillary Training Program Scholarship Recipients

Roman Covarrubias
Vanderbilt University, USA

National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute (NHLBI) Scholarship Recipients

Yvonne Döring
Institute for Cardiovascular Prevention Ludwig-Maximilians University Munich, Germany

Jonathan E. Feig
New York University School of Medicine, USA

Richard N. Hanna
MedImmune, USA

Shengping Huang
University of Missouri Kansas City, USA

Prabhakara Redd Nagareddy
Columbia University, USA

Benoit Pourcet
University College London, UK

Mark Roufaiel
University Health Network, Canada

Manikandan Subramanian
Columbia University Medical Center, USA