Keystone Symposia Congratulates Nobel Winners

Keystone Symposia Congratulates the 2013 Nobel Prize Winners

Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine

Keystone Symposia congratulates the recipients of the 2013 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine: James E. Rothman of Yale University School of Medicine, Randy W. Schekman of the University of California, Berkeley and Thomas C. Südhof of Stanford University School of Medicine, who jointly won for their seminal work on cellular vesicle trafficking.

All three winners have been frequent participants in Keystone Symposia meetings dating back to the 1970s and 1980s. In fact, Dr. Schekman presented at Keystone Symposia’s second-ever conference, in March 1973 in Squaw Valley, on “Virus Research.” They have been keynote speakers at various Keystone Symposia conferences in the past few years – Dr. Rothman at our “Cardiac Development and Disease” conference in Breckenridge in January 2007, Dr. Schekman at our “Membrane Organization” conference in Snowbird in January 2010 and Dr. Südhof at our “Neurodegenerative Diseases” conference in Taos in February 2011. Dr. Südhof also co-organized the January 1999 Keystone Symposia conference in Santa Fe on “Molecular Physiology and Pathology of Membrane Traffic.”

Nobel Prize in Chemistry

We also congratulate the recipients of the 2013 Nobel Prize in Chemistry. Martin Karplus of the University of Strasbourg and Harvard University, Michael Levitt of Stanford University School of Medicine and Arieh Warshel of the University of Southern California received the Prize for their work developing computer models that enable scientists to understand complex chemical interactions. This work revolutionized drug design, among other fields.

All three researchers presented at various Keystone Symposia meetings in the 1980s, and Dr. Levitt more recently presented at our “Structural Genomics” meeting in Breckenridge in January 2010.

We salute all six individuals for their extraordinary contributions to the life sciences.